Givenchy Le Rouge – 103 Brun Createur

Givenchy’s new lipsticks, Le Rouge, seem to be all the rage lately and I, the sheep that I am, have been patiently awaiting their release. I was told that there is one of the Givenchy Le Rouge lipsticks available as a 100 point perk so, of course, I ran out and picked it up. Upon swatching it once, all I can say is … oh man, is my bank account ever in trouble. I NEED more of these in my life.

Givenchy Le Rouge 103 Brun Createur

Givenchy Le Rouge 103 Brun Createur

Givenchy Le Rouge 103 Brun Createur

Givenchy Le Rouge 103 Brun Createur

The bullet is supposed to be covered in real leather but since this is a mini tester, this is just plastic and it doesn’t have the Givenchy monogram stamped into the bullet. I’m dying to get my hands on a full size bullet of this lipstick for the packaging alone.

The colour that is available is 103 Brun Createur. While Sephora’s website describes it as a “dusty rose”, I don’t really see too much dustiness in this colour. It seems more like a peachy rose with a hint of brown. Regardless, it is a beautiful everyday colour that will look good on all skintones. I can’t see anyone not being able to wear this colour.

Givenchy Le Rouge 103 Brun Createur

Givenchy Le Rouge 103 Brun Createur

And this puppy is opaque and pigmented! All the blogs I have seen review Le Rouge have been saying that the swatches were done in one swipe and I’m always skeptical whenever anyone makes that claim but I can confirm – the swatches below were literally one swipe! And this is exactly how it goes on the lips – one swipe and you’re done.

Givenchy Le Rouge 103 Brun Createur (Direct Light)

Givenchy Le Rouge 103 Brun Createur (Direct Light)

Givenchy Le Rouge 103 Brun Createur (Indirect Light)

Givenchy Le Rouge 103 Brun Createur (Indirect Light)

As for the texture, I would say the Burberry Lip Velvet has the closest texture to these lipsticks. It is a matte finish but this isn’t the matte from the 90’s. It’s very comfortable to wear and hydrating on the lips – it clings to the lips enough that the colour does not move on your lips but the tightness associated with matte lipsticks isn’t there. There is a bit more slip in Givenchy’s formula than in Burberry’s which translates to the Burberry lipsticks lasting slightly longer on the lips. This is not of any concern to me really since I enjoy reapplying my lipstick throughout the day but if you are someone who  does not like to touch up, that is something to consider.

Unfortunately, as is usually the case, their release in Canada is delayed and I have been told by 5 Sephora stores that it will likely be another 3-4 weeks before they will be available in-stores but once they are, I’m sure I will not be able to resist. My fingers are already itching to just order them online sight unseen.

Must….resist…urge…

Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Givenchy Le Rouge – 103 Brun Createur

  1. Thank you so much for the review! I placed the order to reveive this 100 pts gift~
    It is even better if you can put a real mouth with this lipstick~

    • You’re very welcome, shirley. I hope you like it!
      I haven’t posted any lip swatches because I can’t get colour accurate lip swatches with my camera but I’m working on it so hopefully, I will be able to provide those in the future.

Leave a Reply

